Entradas populares

Monday, December 16, 2013


Dolphin Quarter
Dolphin Show at SeaWorld Orlando, Florida
L. Delphinus delphis, Eng common dolphin, cape dolphin, hourglass dolphin, saddleback porpoise, white-bellied porpoise. There are some 20 species of dolphins. This particular type is about 2.6 m. long and weighs about 130 kilos. 

During the Middle Ages there were numerous schools of dolphins in the Mediterranean and the Atlantic. They can live in large schools of 1,000 or more or small ones consisting of 30. They are playful. They slap and jump the waves and somersault. 

They love to panic fish throwing them up into the air before devouring them. They eat all kinds of fish including mackerel, sprats, squid, cod, herring, whiting and squid. They seem to migrate in search of with their prey. Dolphins communicate to each other by whistling. Villena lists dolphins among fish eaten in Spain. 

Medieval kings had the royal prerogative to reserve certain foods for their consumption alone and repeatedly did this. In an Act of the English Parliament of 1320 whales, dolphins, porpoises, and sturgeon were declared “Fishes Royal.” They could be caught only for consumption at the royal table. This act has never been revoked. Queen Elizabeth II ordered the release of Popsie, a porpoise saved by a private zoo. 

Humans and dolphins are said to be the only species that have sex for pleasure. Is that why Flipper was always smiling? [ES: Common Dolphin. Sep 24, 04; Ritchie. 1981:75; and Villena/Calero. 2002:23a:37b]

No comments:

Post a Comment